Oatcakes … a cookie that dates back to AD43 in Scotland!

Before email, facebook, google and pinterest this is how I envision recipes getting from one person to another.

About two weeks ago my neighbors little boy rang the doorbell and had a plate of cookies. I know, I have awesome neighbors, on both sides! The cookies were oatcakes, which in Nova Scotia,  are served at Tim Hortons and often come in Bread baskets at restaurants , alongside warm rolls. A seriously Scottish cookie!

After having one cookie, I knew I had to have this recipe. Hmmm… how was I going to get the recipe? Google it? There are lots of different Oatcake recipes online, which one did my neighbor use? Hmmm? Text message her, NOPE… don’t have her cell phone number … I know what you are thinking, not on facebook either. Now what?

I picked up the telephone and called her … then what I did next is unheard of!!! I took a pencil and a piece of paper and jotted the recipe down, using short hand. I guess you could say I “shared it on my wall” OR “Pinned it to my board” for all our social media peeps out there.

A few weeks passed and I made these fabulous, wonderful, yummy cookies … ( I NEVER have unsalted butter in the fridge, which by the way is kept in the freezer section of our sobeys, near the frozen fruit.)

I brought these lovely cookies to a meeting the next day and they were welcomed with open arms and everyone that tasted wanted the recipe too! So I think that is enough said … so without further adieux here is the sought after recipe… so now you can pin it or share it! If it is off of a package or from a website I honestly have no idea!

Oatcakes

Oatcakes
1 cup shortening
1 cup Unsalted Butter
1 cup sugar
Cream the above ingredients in a mixer
Dissolve 1 tsp of baking soda in 3 tsp of boiling water
Add to the butter mixture
3 cups oats
3 cups flour
1 tsp salt
Mix well until combined. You can at this point roll the dough out and cut them in circles or squares. As recommended to me, to press them onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, score the raw dough with a butter knife into rectangles, they will snap apart once baked.
Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes

These are a must try … and hey bring some to a neighbor! If you bring some to a neighbor, they will want the recipe to go with it!

Leave a Reply

