Brown Bear, Brown Bear What do you see? I Love Planning a Party…

 

birthday2

We found our place to be a bit of a party house in the last 4 weeks. Now, if you know me personally, you probably ‘Laughed Out Loud’ at the idea of MY place being a party house    and …yeah, you’re right! We had a 3 year old birthday party followed by a Convocation “gathering” that my mother planned (at my house.

 

As you know I am the mom that loves planning a birthday party for my kids! Once I get a theme, I am pinning, list-making and buying like a crazy person! Get out of my way, ’cause that is my mission for the 2 weeks before!

So this year’s theme was “Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see?” by Eric Carle… I know, right? Super easy to find stuff for that theme! Nope. I had to search and search for ideas and forget BUYING decorations. Why did I pick such a challenging theme?! Well, if you heard LittleL recite this book over and over, you’d quickly know why! He’s in LOVE with it.

Here are some theme things I made or came up with for his party:

Banner: I found the premade banner at Michaels and just added printed pictures from the book. It was a simple cut and paste project.

birthday6

Cake: Thanks to my mother-in-law, my kids always get an awesome cake, that looks like the Cake Boss made it.

birthday1

 

 

Balloons: No big deal right? But this year I bought helium so these balloons were the main source of entertainment for the kids. Adults passed them down, kids let them float up to ceiling. This game did not get old!

birthday5

Photo Booth: So in my searches I noticed the trend of photo booths. I thought, I can do that! I cut the cute little things out of card stock, covered the door with yellow tissue paper and I made a photo booth. Great! However, sharp bamboo skewers, dress-up hats and scarves to three years olds did not scream “ HEY LETS GET OUR PICTURES TAKEN!” Take a moment to pause and create a picture of what 3 year old little boys would do with those objects! OK, enough said! Lesson learned. Leave that idea for the weddings &/or showers or any other adult type parties.

birthday4

Take home favours: I found my inspiration for this on a few different pinterest posts and compiled them to make my own thing. I had * green Frogs * Yellow Ducks * Bear Paws * Goldfish – If you know the book, you will know the significance of each of those items.

Entertainment: I played the Youtube video of “Brown Bear, Brown Bear” on the TV, I had printed colouring pages to match the theme, and we also tried one game of matching. I quickly learned the crowd was not into games that day!  So, they went back to the toys and the balloons!

 

Birthday3

 

2 thoughts on “Brown Bear, Brown Bear What do you see? I Love Planning a Party…

  1. I love Eric Carle! We all do! The Things read pages bare! (Bear!) 😀

    I also love a theme! This is great!

    The next time you want things on sticks, go for chopsticks – equally affordable, but less trip-to-the-er-ish with small children. 😉 You can get a decent sized package at most grocery stores! Alternatively, you could go the dowel route at a home improvement big box store, get the diameter that suits your purpose and get your “three cuts free” on the giant saw! Frugal, fun and educational/fieldtrippy for your little guy! 😀

    I want some of that cake! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I love the idea of chopsticks! I still think the three year old boys wouldn’t have gotten the photo booth idea. I had no idea of the three cuts free!! Home depot or Central or Kent?
      Cake was yummy! Thanks for your support!
      🙂 #melmar

Leave a Reply

