Camping season is coming!

camping1

In 2010 my husband talked me into getting a camper. We purchased a travel sport camper. We had both camped growing up and felt it was something we wanted to do for our ONE son at the time. While my husband was used to setting up camp for a full summer away from home in a pull trailer with a bathroom, kitchen and all the amenities of home. I was accustomed to a pop-up camper that was used for a 2 week vacation every year. My camping experience required me to leave my camper and walk with a flashlight to go potty.

Needless to say I was a much harder sell on the camping life and the wonderful memories that were yet to be made with my new little family. But, the excitement in my hubby’s eyes and the curiosity in BigB’s then 4 year old eyes sold me on the idea.

The first year we were figuring things out. I was still not a fan by the end of the camping season. This was my profile picture on FB that winter:camping4

 

The next year we didn’t do too badly, we did a little bit of traveling and sightseeing. By the end of that camping season, I was pregnant with LittleL.  So, the following summer found us with a 3 month old baby and a newly minted 5 year old. My Facebook profile picture returned to the above image! I begrudgingly packed up a new baby every weekend and headed out for a camping “trip” that left us no further than 30 mins from our own front door. You know all that “stuff” a 3 month old baby needs, right? I was NOT a happy camper.
camping2

In spring of 2012 we went shopping for a new camper to accommodate our growing family and to help make this momma happy. We got a bigger camper, so we didn’t have to fold down the kitchen table to sleep. We also decided to park our camper in one spot to avoid the repacking every weekend.

Guess what? Everyone had a great summer! We live in an area that is not child friendly. There’s no place to ride a bike or scooter, no place to play road hockey or find a group of friends to just hang out with. BigB loves a place where he can have a campfire every night, a pool, new friends to play with, freedom, sidewalk chalk, street hockey etc. He sleeps like a rock from all the fresh air and self made entertainment.

I still don’t LOVE it. I maintain my argument that I would like the boys to see more of our country, province, etc. than the same 1hr radius every year. For now though, they love the freedom, the fresh air and they are playing old school! Those things I played outside – bike riding, chalk, skipping, scooters – I’ll take that for a few more summers, then I will change my tune again. So I ❤ camping for my boys.

Camping3

2 thoughts on “Camping season is coming!

Leave a Reply

