National Sibling Day …

Sister is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship.

Margaret Mead

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/m/margaretme393230.html#hbyluhVcE1mrYMpq.99

Sister is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship.

Margaret Mead

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/m/margaretme393230.html#hbyluhVcE1mrYMpq.99

Sister is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship.

Margaret Mead

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/m/margaretme393230.html#hbyluhVcE1mrYMpq.99

sisters sisters1

“Sisters is probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown,it becomes the strongest relationship.

~Margaret Mead

 

 

With almost five years separating us in age, we still grew up very close. I think it’s because MelHal was always thinking she was older than she really was. Like all siblings we have our moments, both good and otherwise. Here are some questions we generated and answered separately. It was nice to see each others responses. Have fun reading and looking at some throw back pictures of some cute little girls!

Questions

#melmar

#melhal

Christmas memory together…

The Christmas we got stuck on the boat going to NFLD, once we arrived Oma fell and broke her collarbone. #LONGSTORY

MelMar & I were always expected to wrap Dad’s Christmas presents for Mom. I did not have the crafty knack she did so I would often misjudge the amount of paper I needed. We coined the phrase “joiner piece” to describe the extra strip of paper I would inevitably have to add to cover the gift contents!

Something you said that you regret…

When I was 13 – Melhal was 7 and she spent her own money on a ceramic bell for me as a gift. When I was opening it, I said “is this really what’s inside ( with a teenage attitude) … YUP it was. It’s on video so it’s preserved !

Oh my. Hate revisiting this and have said my apologies! I may have scolded MelMar (to use her as an example!) when she was filling a shift in a job that I was supervising.:/

Time you were most proud of the other…

When Melhal returned from her year in Korea, I was pretty impressed that she stayed away from home for a whole year and came home and got engaged to her boyfriend ( double proud)

I think I am most proud of MelMar right now! She will be graduating with her Masters in Education next month and I think it’s amazing that she has pulled that off while also working 2 full-time jobs – being a teacher and a mom!

When you think of your sister as a parent, you think …

Melhal and her husband are very caring and put their baby girl’s needs first. Miss. V is bringing out a new side of Melhal, that I like!

I see MelMar as a Pinterest Parent. I often think of how little the boys realize now about how much work she puts into preparing activities and crafts but how much they will appreciate it when they’re older.

Weirdest memory you have together…

Oh so many…

Once when we were visiting our grandparents there was a festival happening in town. MelMar heard on the radio that you would gain free access to the grounds if you wore a clown costume. To this day I think she misheard because we were the ONLY people on the field dressed as clowns. We did get in for free though and people thought we were part of the attractions so they got pictures taken with us. I remember MelMar even developed a special voice to go along with her clown persona!

Favorite family vacation

See Disney Christmas Blog write-up. However every vacation together was all ways a hit! Camping and road trips alike!

Maybe it’s because I got severe food poisoning on the last Disney trip…or maybe it’s because I was 8 months pregnant waddling through “The Happiest Place On Earth” but I think it was our first trip to Disney in 1992 that was my favourite.

Favorite tradition

Not sure if it is a tradition, but we would always sit at the table for supper time ( seems to be a lost part of daily routine). Here we would have great conversation and share our thoughts/feelings!

I COMPLETELY agree with Melanie on this one. We would sit around the table for a long time after the meal was over and chat. We had no idea that those conversations were building our family’s relationship and that we were getting advice from one another about things happening in our lives. It just felt very natural to be talking around the table.

I could not resist sharing this youtube link to Avicii’s Song – Hey Brother

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Cp6mKbRTQY

sisters2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “National Sibling Day …

Leave a Reply

