Valentine’s Cookies…and Added BONUS!

Image

Violet and I are planning to go to Tom’s office on Valentine’s Day, toting a tray of cookies for his students and coworkers. I envision it as a lovely visit with everyone fawning over Violet and biting into their cookies, remarking on how delicious they are and what an organized and talented domestic goddess I must be. This image is the ideal. The alternative (and what is more likely to happen) is that Violet will be cranky and unhappy for the entire visit and everyone will be forced to lie about their cookies tasting delicious.

In an effort to ensure that next Friday sways further towards the first scenario I described, I did a test-run of my Valentine’s Day sweets and I’m happy to say they turned out okay! Here’s a step-by-step run-down with some tips in case you want to give them a go too!

Image

– Mix up your favourite batch of chocolate chip cookies – but skip the chocolate chips. (I have decided not to provide the recipe I used because it was not perfect and I plan on using a different recipe for my next attempt.)

– Fill muffin tins about 1/2 full of your cookie mixture. (I went 3/4 full and it was too much. I will be adjusting the quantity next time!)

– Put the cookies in the oven for about 15 minutes.

– Use a spoon to create a crater in the middle, turning the cookie into a little cup. (I also tried using a shot glass to make the impression but too much of the batter stuck to the bottom of the glass. As it is, you’ll have to coat your spoon with “Pam” fairly often to keep things smooth!)

– You might have to take the cookies out every five minutes or so to reinforce your cup – just keep an eye on them and use your judgement until you’re confident the cookies are done and the crater is deep enough.

– Once your cookies cool, fill them with M&Ms or Smarties. (If you’re really keen, you’ll use exclusively red, pink and white candies since it is Valentine’s Day but no one’s going to judge you too harshly if you throw in a blue or yellow.)

Image

Lastly – as a final safeguard against catastrophe at our Valentine’s visit – I put Valentine pictures of Violet into the cups. (I figure the adorable picture is a perfect distraction against potentially foul-tasting cookie-cups!) I used a template from the Wal-Mart photo website to design simple Valentine’s cards.  I taped a toothpick to the back of each card to stand it in the cup cookie.

Now, I said there was an added bonus to this post! This innovation comes courtesy of my dear husband, Tom. Since these cookies were part of a pilot project, I didn’t bother filling them all with M&Ms. When Tom saw them empty, he immediately decided they should be used for ice-cream so a few nights ago we made tiny ice-cream sundaes in cookie cups and they were divine!

Image

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Cookies…and Added BONUS!

Leave a Reply

