A Taste of the Olympics

Image

With this morning’s official opening of the 2014 Olympics in Sochi, I can’t help but reminisce about the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver. I remember those Games showcasing Canada in a new light and offering an opportunity for Canadians to take pride in not only the games but our country.

Somehow, the Olympics just have a way of igniting a passion in people. I came across a thesis document written by Marianne van Oosten for the completion of her Master of Journalism degree. I think she and I are on the same page. She wrote, “Sport contributes to social cohesion and helps to surmount social barriers. It also contributes to national pride as Canadians celebrate the achievements of our athletes at the Olympic and Paralympic Games.”

I have so many fond memories of that time four years ago, from the red mittens that were such a hot commodity at Zellers and HBC to the torch being passed from province to province and Nikki Yanofsky’s song, “I Believe.”

Image

Even though I was nowhere near Vancouver in 2010, I could feel a certain Olympic excitement. Now, here we are in 2014 and some of that excitement is starting to come back. Canadian Olympians are tweeting about their arrival to the Olympic village and their pictures are filling up Instagram accounts. Hayley Wickenheiser is gearing up to carry our national flag! Will the hockey teams bring home the gold? Will Tessa and Scott have a successful pair skate for what might be the last time? What will their outfits look like?

We’re starting to get our house decked out in red and white – and not only for Valentine’s Day, this year! We’ll have our maple leaves, Canadian flags and red mittens displayed proudly.

On a recent storm day I was whipping up a simple box mix of cupcakes with some pre-made icing. In keeping with my building enthusiasm for the Games, I decided to add a bit of Olympic Flavour to my treats! I piped the icing on some of the cupcakes (but once my 2 year old got involved that quickly switched to spreading), and found some M&Ms (easy decorations for a 2 year old!) in the cupboard. I used them to form the Olympic rings! These cute cakes make great fuel for Olympic Fever! #MelMar

Image

One thought on “A Taste of the Olympics

  1. Hiya! These would have made a GREAT dessert for my Olympic Flag pizza! 😀

    What a fun idea! Since the Paralympics are taking place in Sochi now, I think I will make these with the Things and celebrate! It’s March Break now, too, so the activity is always welcome!

Leave a Reply

